Lectures and Seminars

September: Genealogy

Conveners: Mark Kear (Geography) and David Gibbs (History)

Invited scholar: Jamie Peck, Professor of Geography, University of British Columbia

In conversation (open to the public): Thursday, September 10, 2020, 6pm

Seminar: Friday, September 11, 2020, 11am

 

November: Genealogy II

Conveners: Luciana Chamorro Elizondo (Postdoctoral Fellow) and Ragini Tharoor Srinivasan (English)

Invited scholar: Partha Chatterjee, Professor of Anthropology and of Middle Eastern, South Asian and African Studies, Columbia University

Lecture (open to the public): Thursday, November 12, 2020, 6pm

Seminar: Friday, November 13, 2020, 11am

 

December: Borders

Convener: Eithne Luibheid (Gender and Women’s Studies)

Invited scholar: Sayak Valencia, Professor of Cultural Studies, El Colegio de la Frontera Norte

Lecture (open to the public): Thursday, December 10, 2020, 6pm

Seminar: Friday, December 11, 2020, 11am

 

January: Race and the Human

Convener: Ragini Tharoor Srinivasan (English)

Invited scholar: Denise Ferreira da Silva, Professor, The Social Justice Institute, University of British Columbia

Lecture (open to the public): Thursday, January 14, 2021, 6pm

Seminar: Friday, January 15, 2021, 11am

 

February: Subjectivity

Convener: Marcia Klotz (English & GWS)

Invited scholar: Stephen Shapiro, Professor of English and Comparative Literary Studies, University of Warwick

Lecture (open to the public): Thursday, February 18, 2021, Time TBD

Seminar: Friday February 19, 2021, Time TBD

 

March: Religion         

Convener: Luciana Chamorro Elizondo (Postdoctoral Fellow)

Invited scholar: William Mazzarella, Neukom Family Professor, Department of Anthropology, University of Chicago

Lecture (open to the public): Thursday, March 4, 2021, Time TBD

Seminar: Friday, March 5, 2021, Time TBD

 

April: Socially Engaged Art

Convener: Hai Ren (East Asian Studies)

TBD